Ads help us keep this site online


13th May 2013
Posted by Ashwyn Smyth

A packed edition of the British Blues Awards 2013 nominated Digital Blues on Gateway 97.8 this Wednesday with all the variety you have come to expect!

There are tracks from Blues Music Award winners the late Michael Burks, Tab Benoit, the late Magic Slim & the Teardrops, the Tedeschi Trucks Band, the Mannish Boys, Rick Estrin & the Nightcats, Janiva Magness, Ruthie Foster, Eric Bibb, Curtis Salgado, Irma Thomas and Victor Wainwright. Plus there is a track from Blues Hall of Fame inductee, Joe Louis Walker.

There is another track from this month’s IBBA Album of the Month, ‘Highwire’ by the Daniel Smith Blues Band and more new releases from Angel Forrest, Dave Arcari & the Helsinki Hellraisers, Hans Theessink, Big Daddy Wilson and Ron Dzubla.

In the gig guide there are tracks from Mick Pini and the SPIKEdrivers plus slices of birthday cake for Roscoe Levee and Micke Bjorkof & BlueStrip. By popular request there is a track from Zoe Schwarz Blue Commotion

That will do very nicely I think!

Listen in between 21.00 & 23.00 p.m. UK time Wednesday by tuning your radio to 97.8fm in Basildon, East Thurrock and surrounds or by clicking on the Listen Live button in the web site header at and/or at

Digital Blues on Gateway 97.8 – Wednesday 15th May 2013 between 21.00 & 23.00 UK time repeated on Sunday 19th May 2013 between 20.00 & 22.00  UK time.

A podcast of the show will be available from 20.00 Sunday on i-tunes  and on PodOmatic at

Subscribe and never miss a Digital Blues radio show!!

Full playlists are published on the Digital Blues website soon after the show airs –